Delicious Dish

109_0275.jpgSo, my party on Saturday was a wonderful success. Here’s a little background… Amy is a woman i know through a great friend of mine and her husband also happens to be my dentist. I have great teeth. So there we are at a party in her home and she begins to tell us of a little soiree she is holding in which there will be manicurists, pedicurists, masseuses, etc. and she’s having it catered. Robert  chimes in and says “Well, Tara is starting a catering business that’s just desserts (hence the name) so why doesn’t she do your sweet table for you?” I was in shock when she said yes and asked what i did exactly. I mean, I didn’t really know. At that point, it was just brainstorming. And yes, I would share it with Robert as he would be over at my house at least 3 nights a week, but i didin’t think anyone else would take me seriously.

I would wait for Olivia to go to bed and i would sit in front of my computer thinking of things i could do with my life. I was getting restless and sorry to say, bored. I wrote down all the things i was good at that could be moneymakers for me- writing, baking, or doing makeup on dead people. That was it. Out of  those, i picked baking as the one the one thing i could probably be comfortable with at this point. So I was just jotting things down in a binder and trying to figure out what it would take to run a baking business out of my house. When Amy said she wanted me to do her spa party, i was so nervous. Naturally, all the questions rattled around in my brain.

What if no one likes my stuff? It’s one thing that my fatso husband will like whatever i make but the public? And would they be willing to pay for something they can buy so much cheaper?  I went home and got started on everything i would need. I had over a month to prepare but it still didn’t seem like enough time. I wanted to put all my recipes on my computer (all the good ones anyway-some are NOT winners) and then there were the supplies…oh god, the supplies…the flour, sugar, butter, eggs, and all those little extras like mascarpone cheese for the frosting on my red velvet cupcakes, the torch for the sugar on my creme brulee, it was all so overwhelming.

It took a while but then I knew what i wanted to do. The vision i have for my business is this- you call me and tell me what you want, i show up with the goodies, display stands, table cloth, table, name cards, etc. and all you do is pay me. I come back that night or the next day to get my stuff and voila! Your dessert table is taken care of. Here’s the catch- I’m only doing individual desserts. Not cookies, cakes, bars or other crap i don’t care about. Fudge brownies, creme brulee, cheesecakes, and OF COURSE cupcakes, among other things. Can you picture white chocolate cups with mousse on the inside and white chocolate curls on top? I’m going to do tiramisu in three different flavors and god help me, individual fruit pies. I’m drooling thinking about it. I can’t wait to get more people lined up for my stuff.

I’m so excited now. And i have another party lined up for tomorrow at 4. I’m baking stuff for a wake. I wonder who died.

Leave a comment

Filed under baking, business, catering, chocolate, cupcake, dessert

Leave a Reply

