chocolate chip cookies

After being nagged by my husband about how ‘cookies would be a nice change of pace,’ i decided to try and make chocolate chippers. I recalled the recipe for Tollhouse cookies from my days of domestic not-bliss with my first husband, and i put it to good use. Yes, i do have this recipe memorized. I didn’t have a bag of tollhouse chips on hand (the ones in the pic are minis) so i couldn’t look it up. Put your oven at 375. I started with two sticks of unsalted butter that i left out overnight to become room temp, but not totally soft. I tossed in 3/4 cup of white sugar, then 3/4 cup of packed brown sugar. I think you can use light or dark and it doesn’t really matter. I’ve used both and have noticed barely a difference. I tossed two eggs on top of that and mixed with my hand held until beautiful and fluffy. Then i added two teaspoons of vanilla. I am pretty sure the recipe calls for one teaspoon, but i’m a big fan of adding extra vanilla to most of my recipes that call for it. Next, i whisked two and one quarter cups of all-purpose flour with one teaspoon of salt and one teaspoon of baking soda. I put half in the bowl with the butter mixture and blended, then added the last half and blended that also.I made sure to push the sides down with my scraper so i didn’t get any butter or sugar lumpy stragglers. I then mixed in two cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips with my scraper. Don’t use your mixer here unless you want chocolate bits and pieces instead of chips. Also, at this point, you don’t want to over mix the batter anyway or your cookies will be tough and not that great. I mean, you get points for making them with butter instead of nasty old shortening, so that will help with the flavor if you DO over mix. Just try not to . Oh, the salt helps with tenderness also. But still. At this
point you can grab two tablespoons like it did and drop each spoonful onto cookie sheets. You could make them more uniform by using a one ounce scooper, which i have every intention of picking up from Bed, Bath, and Beyond because i will need it for the 72 mini cupcakes i will be baking in May. But that’s neither here nor there. So, for my first pan going in, i always spray with no-stick but i don’t after that first one. My first batch went in for 10 minutes and came out a little more browned than i wanted them to. They still tasted pretty damn good. Not to toot my own horn but uh, beep. The next pans went in for 9 minutes and came out perfect. I let them cool for two minutes on the pan, then completely on the racks. I’ve eaten 5 already. By the time my teenagers get home, there won’t be any left and they’ll be mad. Oops. So this concludes my post on doing something nice for my husband who always tells me i do too much nice stuff for other people and not enough for him. He’s right. I just figured my presence here was gift enough for him. Oh, and here’s the shirt i got from cupcakeroyale.com. I have gotten mad compliments on it. You should buy one.

Leave a comment

Filed under baking, cookies

Leave a Reply

