Strawberry cupcakes, why do i bother?

So Mia’s birthday was last week, but they aren’t having her party until next week because of the crummy not-spring like weather we are currently having. However, yesterday was not too bad, and today will be even better, i hear. Mia is the daughter of one of my best friends in the whole wide world, Britt. Britt and i moved to Las Vegas together. Let’s just say we’ve been through a lot as friends and there’s one thing in particular that she did for me that only a true friend would do, so i will always keep her in my life. Please don’t ask what it was, suffice it to say that it was the equivalent of holding someone’s hair back when they’re puking.

I decided that since Britt was the one who got me the happy cupcake feet for my birthday, i would test them out on her daughter. I was going to make delicious strawberry cupcakes with strawberry cream cheese frosting. Yum! What kid wouldn’t like those? And even better, i was going to shape out to look like a caterpillar, and put candy on them. Mia’s dentist, beware!

So if you have read any of my other posts, you know that i have tried out about 6 different strawberry cupcake recipes in search of one that blows me away. Honestly, they’ve all been pretty lame. This one is my seventh attempt. I used the vanilla cupcake recipe from this book but halved it because i only wanted twelve. The recipe is as follows, with my notes and comments, of course.

1 stick butter, soft

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup self-rising flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

*1 tsp strawberry extract

*1/2 package strawberry gelatin

*1/2 cup frozen, thawed, chopped strawberries

*this means it wasn’t in the original recipe, i threw it in there

I put the oven at 350, mixed wet, then dry, then mixed it all together, then baked them for 19 minutes. They came out nice and pink and smelled wonderful but there was not even one extra so i couldn’t taste them. I used this very basic recipe for strawberry cream cheese frosting to put on top.

1 pack 8 oz cream cheese, soft and mushy

1/2 stick butter, soft and mushy

2-3 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp strawberry extract

1/2 cup frozen, thawed, chopped strawberries

1 drop red food color, for that extra push over the cliff

You mix the butter and cream cheese together until smooth and somewhat fluffy then start adding in the powdered sugar. Wait until the end to fold in the berries. Try not to get any of the juice in there or you’re going to have to add more powdered sugar and it may get grainy on you. Or stiff. Some people like things that are stiff so if that’s okay with you, enjoy. When i was done frosting them, i rolled them around a plate of tiny round decorative candies just so it was on the edges.

Then i pushed two strawberry creme savers in the top of each one to look like the “spine” of a dragon, or dinosaur, or something else cool a seven year old would like. At this point i couldn’t decide between dragon without wings, or caterpillar with a tail. Whichever, i guess. I also made fondant tail which i rolled around in red food paste until it was a very sickly color of redpink. Shudder.

I then realized that i couldn’t bring them to her until the next day so i stuck them in my wilton cupcake carrier and popped them in the fridge. Guess what happened? I guess any moron with two brain cells to rub together could have seen it coming but alas, i have only one brain cell. Too much pot in high school.

The damn creme savers melted and got all over the tops of the cupcakes! Oh well, i guess that just makes them more strawberry tasting, right?

Here is what they look like after i got to her house and assembled them on her counter. Warning! These are not my prettiest work! I am saved by the fact that she is a kid and anything with sugar is good until you reach a certain height. Lucky! Also saved by the fact that I got her one of those butterfly garden things and some sidewalk chalk. Who wouldn’t want worms on their birthday? I know i would!!

So, happy birthday sweet girl. I hope all your wishes come true. I love you!

1 Comment

Filed under baking, brat, cupcake, dessert, Uncategorized

One response to “Strawberry cupcakes, why do i bother?

  1. kylee

    ilove cupcakes

Leave a Reply

