Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip

These were the best cookies ever. Really. I got them from Vegan With a Vengeance but I tweaked them a little.

The recipe called for raisins and walnuts. Well, no thanks to the nuts and I was fresh out of raisins so chocolate chips it was!

I used the optional ground flax seed because she says somewhere in that book that they add chewiness and I’ll be damned if I’m eating crispy cookies. I don’t like them.

I actually split the batch in half, added my vegan chocolate chips to half, then added regular Hershey’s semi-sweet to other batch. Mainly because I’m too cheap to share my super expensive vegan chips with the rest of my family. Carmen can’t seem to keep herself vegan so she’s just half-assing it right now, and that’s fine. I know how teenagers can be. Fickle, irresponsible, cranky. I’ve been there so I’m not going to force her into something she’s not quite into wholeheartedly.

oh, sidebar-I’m trying like hell to volunteer at Warped Tour for the Action For Animals booth. It would be super if they would call me but he said he thought they were full at the First Midwest Bank Amphitheater. Oh well, I will have to find something else to volunteer for, I guess. There’s plenty of horrible crap going on that I can be a butthole about and protest, right?

Oh, here’s a couple more pictures of my cookies in action…

This was the mix and the can of pumpkin. I used my spring loaded 1 ounce ice cream scoop to make all my cookies the same size. I love it, it’s so handy for all kinds of crap.

I got 48 scrumptious cookies out of this recipe. I guess I’ll post it here, and if the ladies get mad at me, I’ll just take it down. But really, if you make the cookies, then buy the book because of it, who wins? Everyone!

Here it is, you will need:

2 cups AP flour (i used unbleached)

1 1/3 cups rolled oats

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 2/3 cups sugar

2/3 cup canola oil

2 Tbsp dark molasses

1 cup canned pumpkin, NOT pumpkin pie mix

1 tsp vanilla

1 Tbsp ground flaxseeds (optional)

1 cup walnuts, finely chopped     ** i passed on these. not a HUGE fan of nuts in my cookies.

1/2 cup raisins  **i was out of raisins so instead i used 1/2 cup vegan choc. chips, and 1/2 cup reg. choc. chips

This follows the basic premise of any baking job- you mix the dry stuff together, then the wet stuff, then you fold to combine, then you add the raisins/walnuts/chocolate chips, what have you.

What I did was I divided the batter into two portions and added the different chocolate chips to each batter. I used my scooper to get my cookies a nice uniform shape and size. I sort of mushed them down before putting them in the oven. I have five rack spots in my oven so one of the cookie sheets sat on the very middle rack, and one sat on the rack directly under it. I baked them for 8 minutes, took them out, turned the pans around and switched them from top to bottom and bottom to top and then turned my timer back on for 9 minutes. I took them out and let them cool completely.

I tried one warm, and one completely cooled and what a difference!! Wait til they cool. You will NOT be disappointed. Yum!!

Enjoy! And Viva La Vengeance!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip

  1. Pingback: bits of string press

Leave a Reply

