Lots of Goodies

And one baddie. Let’s start with that.

I decided to try my hand at a vegan layer cake. I know what you’re thinking- “You should probably stick to cupcakes.” And after the grossness of it, I would have to agree with you. I’m not posting the recipe or what book I got it from because I don’t think it’s the recipe, I think it’s my lack of awesomeness in the kitchen that effed this one up. It’s called “Five Spice Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Maple Frosting.” Sounds tasty, right? Wrong, chief. Waaaayyyyy too many spices, first off. I think I put in too much ginger or cloves or something crappy that made this cake trigger my gag reflex quicker than a Jessica Simpson music montage. (God, I hate her.) Plus, I could totally taste the prune puree that was supposed to go in there in place of oil. “Oh, don’t worry, the chocolate will totally overpower the prunes, you won’t even notice them!” (Lies. All lies.) I’ll take the oil, thanks. I don’t mind fat. Really, I don’t. Look at me. I haven’t met a fattening vegan food that I was like “Oh no!!! I can’t eat THAT!!!”

Anyways, the frosting was a tofu based frosting. I have had tofu frosting/mousse before and it was super tasty so I wasn’t opposed to this but for some reason…I dunno…it just wasn’t right.

The cake itself was very moist and chocolaty tasting, but also pruney tasting and too spicy-like. The frosting was too runny and wierd. So, it’s back to the drawing board for me. Next time, more oil, no prunes, no spices AT ALL, and make the tofu mousse and frost with that instead. I’ll let you know how THAT hot mess turns out.

Lunch today consisted of these sweet garden burgers from Trader Joe’s and some delicious edamame, corn, and sesame salad. I was a little worried about how it would turn out, but I was soon eased by the very tangy flavor of the dressing, and lord knows how I love me some corn and edamame. From my previous posts, you remember that sesame seeds make my tummy mad at me, but they are full of calcium so I left them in the recipe.

This recipe was taken from Veganomicon (p. 82) and printed without permission. I had to substitute the corn I had and I had to double the recipe, sort of, so maybe I’ve changed it just enough to not be that butthole that reprints recipes without author permissions. We’ll see. Here’s how I did it-

Dressing:

3 Tbsp toasted sesame oil

2 Tbsp rice vinegar

1 Tbsp tamari

Whisk together in a small bowl while you wait for the salad to cook and chill.

Salad:

1 bag frozen shelled edamame (i think it was a 16 oz bag, and it ended up being a little less than 4 cups)

2 cups frozen fire-roasted corn

3 Tbsp toasted sesame seeds (i toasted them myself in a pan over medium heat for a few minutes)

Bring water to a boil, place edamame carefully in pot and boil fro three minutes. Place frozen corn in pot carefully and boil all for another two minutes. Drain in colander and run under cold water until cool enough to touch. Add the dressing and toss to coat. Add the sesame seeds and toss to coat. Salt to taste. Cover and chill thoroughly. Eat as a side dish or alone, it’s up to you.


These were our dessert after that yummy lunch. Delicious sunny corn blueberry muffins from Vegan With a Vengeance. I used fresh blueberries because they were on sale at Jewel. However, when I tried these with frozen blueberries- way different. I’m going to stick to fresh with this recipe.

So, I hope you enjoyed today’s post. I’m not very interesting as of late and I haven’t had much inspiration to do much of anything at all, really. To be honest, I’m feeling a little put out by life in general so I may not be back for a week or so. We’ll see. Check out the blogs in my blogroll in the meantime. They’re there for a reason. Peace.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

