Iron Cupcake- Earth and Whoopie Pies

First up, a quick offering of gratitude to Natalie of Bakeanddestroy for giving me a shout out during her interview with Cakespy. That was super cool and not expected at all. We have kind of an odd history, so thank you my friend. Much love.

Also, these are the whoopie pies I made from Hannah Kaminsky’s book, My Sweet Vegan. I pulled the recipe from Julie Hasson‘s website but I have every intention of buying the book, I swear. I’m just jobless right now and what they call ‘broke as a joke.’ Rest assured, as soon as I am back on my feet, this book will be mine. (The recipe is on the bottom of this post.)

So these things were awesome. They went quickly and Carmen told me I could make them every day and she would be okay with that. I think I’ll make them when I’m done here. Mmm…

My mom used to make whoopie pies when I was a kid so these hold a special place in my heart, even though half the people I told about them were like “whoopie what?” So yeah, apparently no one had the baking maestro in their kitchen that I grew up with and that’s kind of sad. She was amazing with her baked goods. However, ask her to make dinner and it was usually some nasty concoction of what she called ‘American Chop Suey’ or something she referred to as Mexican pot pie, complete with Fritos as garnish. Very classy indeed. But boy could she bake the hell out of some pecan tartlettes! I miss my mommy. She bought a house in Alabama so I don’t get to see her that much, but when I do, it’s always the same thing, “Tara look, I bought this whole outfit at the GoodWill for four dollars! Including the shoes!” Oh, to be old and on a fixed income.

Next order of business, Iron Cupcake Earth. If you are interested in this, go there and sign up. If you win the monthly challenge you get all kinds of goodies like a Jessie Steele Apron(I have one, it is fabulous), a cupcake courier(I have one of these also and again, fabulous) and Taste of Home Books.

Our first challenge is chili peppers. I really want to try and think outside the box with this one because I know plenty of people out there will be pairing their chilis with chocolate since they tend to complement each other so well and the chili doesn’t usually overpower the chocolate too, too much. I’m thinking something a little different but I’m not putting here cuz, I wanna win, yo!

Also, if I recruit people, I could possibly win a t-shirt from artist Cakespy (I actually just went on Etsy and ordered the shirt they’re giving away, Jessie was holding one in my size just for little old me) and a super cute cupcake necklace from Etsy seller The Glass Chef. So go to the link and sign up and tell them you heard about it on my blog!

Oh, here’s a look at those whoopie pies up close. Aren’t you jealous? Read my notes after the recipe…

Preheat oven to 350°F
Two baking sheets lined with Silpats or parchment paper
Makes 8 to 10 sandwich cookies

Cookies

1 cup plain soymilk
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup Dutch process dark cocoa powder, sifted
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup margarine (such as Earth Balance)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed
2 tbsp Vegan “sour cream”
1 tsp vanilla extract

Filling

2 cups confectioner’s (powdered) sugar
1/3 cup vegetable shortening
3 tbsp plain soymilk
1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Cookies: In a small bowl, whisk together the soymilk and vinegar and set aside, allowing the mixture time to curdle. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flours, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

2. Over in your stand mixer, cream together the margarine and both sugars, beating to ensure that the contents of the bowl are creamy and fully combined. Add the “sour cream” and mix again until smooth.

3. Returning to the now curdled soymilk, whisk in the vanilla. Beginning with the wet ingredients, alternately add them with the dry ingredients into your mixer. Scrape down the sides as necessary, and beat the mixture just enough to fully combine.

4. Use an ice cream scoop or measuring cup to drop 3 to 4 tablespoons of dough at a time onto the prepared baking sheets. Leave a good amount of space between each cookie, about 2 inches, allowing them room to spread a bit. Bake for 10 to 14 minutes, until they crackle slightly on top. Remove the cookies from the oven and let them cool completely on the baking sheets where they should firm up a bit more.

5. Filling: To make the filling, begin with the mixer on low and beat together the confectioner’s sugar and shortening. Add the soymilk, and finally the vanilla. Once the sugar has become incorporated, turn the mixer up to high and whip for a good 2 to 3 minutes; this will incorporate more air, making for a lighter, fluffier filling.

6. Drop or pipe a healthy dollop of the crème mixture onto the flat side of one cooled cookie, and place a second cookie on top. Press down gently to bring the filling right out to the edge. Repeat this process with the remaining cookies and crème filling.

**First of all, this made more than 8 to 10 pies for me. I used my one ounce spring-loaded ice cream scooper to dollop the batter onto the pans. Maybe mine were smaller than hers? Who knows.

**Also, to make this easier on myself, I did these how I do cupcakes: mix wet ingredients, mix dry ingredients, mix them together, etc. It made things easier and they tasted and looked the same as i remembered.

**I did NOT use my stand mixer. Sometimes, that thing is just too much for me. I used my hand mixer, it worked perfectly, although the batter did get a bit thick, but whatever.

**The second time I made these, I subbed 1/3 cup canola oil for the margarine. They had the same taste and texture. I just don’t want them to be as dry the next day, you know? I’ll keep you posted. I mean, they were still tasty the next day when made them with the margarine, just crumbly as all get-out.

**I also added a little more shortening, sugar, and soy CREAMER instead of milk to make extra filling. I love the stuff and I can’t get enough of it in my pies!

**I can’t find dark Dutch process coca powder to save my life so i used the regular stuff.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Iron Cupcake- Earth and Whoopie Pies

  1. I AM jealous of those whoopie pies. And how cool that your mom actually made them when you were growing up! They were always a store bought thing for me….
    Oh, and thanks for all the Iron Cupcake links… I will be checking it out for sure!

  2. Oh, whoopie pies. The only thing I don’t like about them is their name. But everything else…loooove. These ones look awesome!

Leave a Reply

