Foodness, Part Deux

Woohoo! I love vegan food! Here are some more lame-ass pictures of the food I ate, only I don’t think it’s lame because I was eating it. Here’s some roasted cauliflower with sauce and pan-fried seitan.

If you’ve never had seitan, it’s made from the gluten of wheat flour or something like that. I can’t have it very often because quite honestly it runs like hell screaming through my intestinal tract. Usually when I make it, I follow the kickass recipe from Veganomicon, but I decided this time to follow the recipe on the back of the box of gluten. Bad idea. I won’t be doing it again. It came out all weird and sponge-like. Eerily juicy, which just didn’t seem right. The cauliflower I simply roasted in the oven with some olive oil, salt and pepper. the sauce on top of it is called faux choron sauce. It is a mayonnaise-based sauce, or in this case, veganaise-based. The recipe called for dry white wine and I used sweet thinking it would be no big deal but it really was a big deal. It was too sweet and therefore gross. I ended up tossing most of it out. Oh well!

Maple Glazed Root Vegetables with Sauteed Tempeh

Maple Glazed Root Vegetables with Sauteed Tempeh

This next lunch of mine was some serious good eats. (That’s my shout to Alton Brown, whom I adore.) Simple sauteed tempeh, hit with tamari and Bragg’s. That’s it. The veggie mix was parsnips, turnips, and carrots. It was supposed to have rutabagas but Jewel was out, so no rutabagas for Tara. I tossed them in pure maple syrup and sprinkled them with salt and pepper. Roasted for a while and tossed every 20 minutes made this another favorite of mine.

Szechuan String Beans with Seitan

Szechuan String Beans with Seitan

This next lunch was hotter than the hinges of…you know where. It had ginger, garlic, crushed red pepper, toasted sesame oil, balsamic vinegar, tamari, mirin, shallots, scallions and a pinch of sugar to make everything sticky. I ended up sauteeing the seitan in some garlicky stir-fry sauce I had in my fridge, and then tossing it in with the green beans. Feeling hot hot hot!!! (And there’s my shout out to the New York Dolls, although every time I see that guy, I think Buster Poindexter. He TOTALLY ruined his image for me. Blah.)

Southwest Seasoned Potato Cakes

Southwest Seasoned Potato Cakes

Here we go with the potato cakes. These were just boiled then mashed potatoes mixed with a little soymilk, some cumin, chopped red peppers, frozen corn kernels and some other stuff to make them yummy. They were fried in the pan with corn oil, but you could use something else if you want. Who cares, really.

And in case you were wondering, I’m not sure why wordpress only lets me put captions on some pictures but not all. Sometimes they’re pretty gay. Also, the first three recipes I got from Vegan Planet by Robin Robertson. That last one is from The Vegan Gourmet by two ladies who’s names I can’t remember, and like you’re going to run out and buy the damn book anyway, you lazy cur. Isn’t that why you peruse the internet for recipes? So you don’t HAVE to buy any actual books? I though so.

If you want actual measurements and stuff, email or comment me.  And remember: a moment on the lips, a lifetime rotting in your colon. Beef. It’s what’s for dinner if you’re an uneducated fool or an asshole who chooses to wear blinders through life.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Foodness, Part Deux

  1. halfeaten

    This is making me hungry!

Leave a Reply

