Cauliflower Potato Hash

With the new year comes yet another new year’s resolution: to drop a few pounds. Mind you,  I’m usually pretty happy with myself, except on the days when I’m not, but there is still this driving need I have to be skinny. Who knows why, but I’m thinking the constantly projected images of tiny little girls in a persistent state of youth and near-emaciation might have a little something to do with it. Thanks, American media. Thanks.

Anyways, my decision comes with a plan of action. I’m going to start off with a good, healthy breakfast. There has to be a vegetable in there somewhere, a bit of protein, and possibly some type of potato. That would make me soooo happy. I’m sick of eating things that are just a pile of carbs drizzled with some sort of sugary by-product.

This was my attempt at making a delicious, sort-of healthy breakfast, and I succeeded. Please enjoy!

002003

Cauliflower Potato Hash

one large head of cauliflower, chopped into small florets

one package of ‘Gimme Lean’ vegan breakfast sausage

one pound fingerling potatoes, NOT peeled, cooked soft then roughly chopped

4 ounces cipollini onions, chopped (the package pictured actually comes with two smaller individually wrapped packages inside of it. Use one of those.) You could also use one small vidalia here.

1/3 cup olive oil

1 tsp cumin, ground

Start off by heating one or two tablespoons of the olive oil in a very large skillet. Throw in the onions. Cook for a couple minutes, until soft. Next toss in the Gimme Lean and break it apart into bite size pieces. Add in a tablespoon of olive oil at a time, as needed, here of there. Now, toss in the cauliflower and cook at medium heat for 15 minutes, stirring every so often. Need more olive oil? Toss it in! Now throw in the cooked potatoes and the cumin and cook for 15 more minutes. Salt and pepper to taste. Voila! Done and delicious, dammit! Ooh, alliteration!

004See how it just kinda looks like a big old pile of mush? It’s delicious mush, I promise. You can barely taste the cauliflower, so my kids effing love this. As an added bonus, this is the kind of food you can serve to your meat eating hubby and he won’t even be able to tell the difference because of all the other flavors going on here. Not that I did that. *grins*

001Yeah so this is what happens at my house when you leave your bedroom door open while you go pee. Don’t do that. Yep, that’s my bra.


1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cauliflower Potato Hash

  1. The mush looks great- and your little girl is adorable!

Leave a Reply

