Potato Kale Enchiladas

010Dang, you guys. I’m sorry. School has taken over my life. In fact, I should be studying right now but I’m giving myself a much deserved break in order to tell you about the fabulousness of these Potato Kale Enchiladas I made from a recipe in Veganomicon.

When I first heard someone talk about cooking with kale, I almost gagged. Why would I want to make a meal out of the tough, woody green stuff that takes up space on my plate when I order food at the local Greek joint? The nice thing about kale is that it has an uncanny ability to soak up flavors nicely and hold onto them without too much fuss.¬† I once made ‘kale chips’ by just roasting some torn up pieces of kale, sprinkling them with salt, oil, and vinegar, and they accompanied my next sandwich, taking the place of the usual salty, fatty potato chips! (Much thanks to Melisser for this idea!)

In this recipe, the kale is chopped up fine and allowed to wilt down with some garlic and oil while on medium flame. Don’t be scared about cooking with it, I promise it won’t disappoint! Plus, there’s another great way to get some dark green, leafy veggies into your diet.

009

Above is a close-up shot after I took out a couple scoops. You can probably still see the filling steaming like mad!

008This is right before it went into the oven. Those little green guys are pepitas, or the meat of the pumpkin seed. They were toasted and used for garnish.

Things I did different from the original recipe: I only had ten tortillas and the recipe called for 12 to 14. I will definitely use more tortillas next time. I like to be able to taste the corn, as gross as that may sound. Also, I used canned chiles because my grocery store didn’t have them fresh. Oh well!

If you want the recipe, leave a comment with your email address!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Potato Kale Enchiladas

  1. Oh my god, these look AMAZING!! I actually LOVE kale (some may think that is odd!). These look so good.

  2. nzcupcakequeen

    I am still yet to try making those kale chips but I saw them on Melissers blogs and was curious.

    Yay for us slack bloggers who are occupied with school! I’ve only just updated mine after 3mths!

Leave a Reply

